Can you be both Pro Life and Pro Obama?

Running in Christian circles as I do, this comes up a lot.

Then I found Matthew 25

The Matthew 25 Network is a community of Christians – Catholic, Protestant, Pentecostal, and Evangelical – inspired by the Gospel mandate to put our faith into action to care for our neighbor, especially the most vulnerable.

The election of our public officials, and the politics they stand for, are a reflection of our core values. We believe that those elected to public office carry an important trust, as their decisions have a profound impact on our nation and our world.

We believe that people of faith should actively participate in the political process as an important avenue for social change. We are called by our faith to engage in the world as it is, while we seek after and hope for God’s Kingdom.

Therefore, while no elected official will be without flaw, we come together as individuals to support candidates for public office who share the values of the Matthew 25 Network: promoting life with dignity, caring for the least of these, strengthening and supporting families, stewardship of God’s Creation, working for peace and justice at home and abroad, and promoting the common good.

They also are the creators of Pro Life Pro Obama

We need a systemic, common ground, common sense approach. Nearly two-thirds of women who have abortions are poor. Almost half are college-age or younger. Two thirds are single.

We can drastically reduce abortions by helping reduce unplanned pregnancies and supporting pregnant women and families that need help.

Senator Barack Obama will fight to make sure that every woman in America has the support she needs when facing an unplanned pregnancy. Senator Obama’s grass-roots, faith-based approach of support for women and families will help them when they most need it, preventing abortions by supporting women and families to choose life.

Now, I want to go on the record of saying this very thing YEARS ago. I did (Shmoop, you remember that conversation? Zeek might). The law is there, but that doesn’t mean people need have to take advantage of it. It might still be a law, and we can reduce abortions by HELPING others. I give everything my babies didn’t need to my local Crisis Pregnancy Center. Everything. They have all of my cribs (I had 6), clothes, you name it. They took everything up to 2T clothes and I stopped by once a month with a van full.

Here are some abortion stats from Pro Life Pro Obama to prove this position.

I’m looking forward to the culture of life that we can make happen. Where there aren’t so many poor, so many in need. Where a girl doesn’t have to choose abortion because she doesn’t have the finances to choose life.

This subject is close to my heart because at 19 I found myself pregnant (even though I had been on the pill), and thinking I had no other option I made the appointment to have an abortion. I went into my parent’s study and cried on my knees. I didn’t want to do it, but I hadn’t even graduated high school and couldn’t see how I could raise a child. Adoption wasn’t an option for me. I’m not brave enough to give a child I had up.

So there I lay, on the table. Girls were going in and out, crying. It’s a horrible place to be. I begged for an ultrasound picture to remember my baby by, but the nurse refused.

I was granite inside. Emotionless. I had to be, there was no other way I could get through it.

You can imagine my astonishment to have the Dr say he couldn’t perform the procedure. You see, the Planned Pregnancy Dr. had made a mistake when he told me I was 19 weeks pregnant. I was actually 24 weeks pregnant and at that stage it was illegal to have an abortion.

In a way my prayers were answered. The decision was taken from me, and I drove home that day numb.

My son is now 18 and I love him to pieces, but raising him with no money and bouncing from job to job and house to house was a nightmare. I would save all my money to feed him, while I ate one grapefruit a day. We made it through, but now I see it as my job to make that decision easier for a girl whose shoes I was once in. I want her to know she can make it, and I help in every way I can.

THAT’s how you reduce abortion.

 

(previously published on my other blog)

3 Comments

Filed under It Goes Like This

3 responses to “Can you be both Pro Life and Pro Obama?

  1. I am not wanting to debate McCain or Obama. I just wanted to add this – God is pro choice AND pro life. He tells us what is right and what is wrong and then lets us choose. We can choose to do what He says is right or we can choose to do wrong. Pro-Choice. But He is always Pro Life.

  2. 1ozmom

    I don’t disagree Tater. I think you’re spot on. But I t hink that having the finacial ability to choose life makes the decision easier.

  3. Money makes every choice easier. Even abortion eh? In my own life, the lack of money has kept me from making some rash choices.

Leave a Reply

